Life Drawing-Reflection

(Photos of my work will follow, they were removed from the classroom the other day and I have yet to find them.)

Life drawing this semester has been up and down for me. Due to a lot of life commitments outside uni, and the pressure of keeping the animation project going, I was finding it harder and harder to find the time to practice and grow. However, one thing I really enjoyed with this semester was being given more freedom to use my imagination, especially in class. I particularly enjoyed the exercise where we had to transform Robert and a cardboard box into a new character. To me, this has always been an easier way of drawing. I actually found that class extremely helpful for the last assignment as well, as it meant I was able to take human poses and apply them to my character.

I can slowly see my use of form growing over time, and definitely think that I have begun to really understand exaggeration and gesture drawing (maybe a little too much at times). Using exaggeration makes drawing so much more fun to me, and also gives your drawings a real sense of movement and life, as if they are about to spring from the page. Another thing I found to be very interesting were the homeworks on drawing the hands and feet. I used Burne Hogarth as my reference when drawing the legs, and ever since have seen an improvement even in my quick 2 minute sketches of the calfs and feet.

DSC_3484DSC_3485DSC_3486DSC_3489Personally I can see my drawings becoming a lot more confident the more I go to life drawing. I used to use very timid strokes, whereas now I feel more free to experiment.

My character design is of a little squirrel. I chose this just because I thought the bright eyes and bushy tail would be appealing to an audience. I decided to go for an oval kind of shape for the head, to make her look very innocent and shy; with big ears and eyes to make her look a goofy and loveable. The ears also function very well to show exaggeration of poses, as well as the tail. Having softer elements to the character allow for different weights which can travel at different speeds with motion, creating a more interesting look than one solid block. It is for this reason that I also chose to give my character a coat.

The character is roughly three heads tall, and is rounded and weighty towards the hips. I chose this because I always find it easier to draw models that carry their weight lower to the ground. I also thought that the skinny legs and big feet would be a great way to exaggerate motion.

DSC_3497DSC_3498

 

Leave a Reply

