Character Design

DSC_3497

Better images will be taken tomorrow, when the sun is back out. Apologies for the dark images for now! This is my little character. She is a happy go lucky kind of squirrel, who is dainty and soft, but you know she might beat you up if you try to litter on her patch. Little details like the necklace and the coat indicate that she might be a collector or scavenger, and her rounded face gives her an approachable, goody kind of look. I gave her very prominent eyebrows so that exaggerating emotion would be easier.  DSC_3498The character turnaround-The side view could do with some work, but otherwise I am happy! Unfortunately I do prefer her design in the early sketches, but hey ho.

DSC_3495.JPGIn the sketch above, I am trying to show a bit of overlapping motion. As her hips move to the right, her coat and ears swoosh to the left. I am also using this drawing as a way to capture exaggeration in the face. I chose to use overlapping motion as I think it is one of the most dynamic of the 12 principles. I’m actually really happy with how this sketch turned out!

DSC_3496I tried to be a lot more free with my drawings for this exercise, instead of keeping them really refined. So if you think the drawing above looks extremely rough and ready…it was meant to be. Here I am attempting to show the use of arcs in motion. I used the nose as the point that follows the arc, with everything else following after it, and I actually think it works really well! I chose to show this principle as I find myself using it most when animating in maya, and thought it would be interesting to try in 2D!

DSC_3499Here I am attempting to show ‘Anticipation’. The idea was that she is preparing to creep along…but need up looking more like she had been pushed backwards..OOPS. But I suppose you could use that as showing ‘Follow Through’. I think the facial expression was probably what caused that problem!

Leave a Reply

